Latest resources

47 - Kroger Camaro - POC2 Hendrick9Fan
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings
Downloads
44
Updated
47 - Kroger Camaro - POC1 Hendrick9Fan
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings
Downloads
40
Updated
47 - NOS Energy Drink Camaro - TAL1 Hendrick9Fan
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings
Downloads
56
Updated
47 - Kroger Camaro - HOM Hendrick9Fan
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings
Downloads
43
Updated
47 - Kroger Camaro - MART1 Hendrick9Fan
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings
Downloads
43
Updated

Frame rate tanking on certain tracks with high end PC

ZeroHour

Member
SRD Member
Messages
17
Reaction score
13
Hey guys, I'm hoping you all might be able to point me in the right direction with this issue I'm having with NR2003. First of all I have a very high end PC with a 9900k CPU and 2080 Ti GPU. The issue is that on some of the newer tracks with really high texture detail like the BB-MC ones (Chicagoland 2018 for example) my framerate will be beautiful (120+ fps) unless the camera/mirror happens to be looking in certain directions like towards the infield, then suddenly it tanks to like 5 fps. Turning off graphics options like shadows and stuff does not change this. I have a feeling it's something to do with NR2003's handling of VRAM but it's just a guess.

edit to clarify: It also depends on the mod in use. For example it happens with the BullRing 2015 mod or SnG 2019 MENCS mods with their high res/gorgeous textures but not with the default Papy 2003 cars.

For info, the only tweaks I have done to NR2003 are TextureSetSize = -1 in rend_dxg.ini and TextureQuality=100 in player.ini. Also I have patched the NR2003.exe with the "4gb" patch tool which did seem to reduce the occurrences of the problem but did not eliminate it.

Anyone know of any tweaks or anything that can mitigate this problem? Thanks in advance!
 

halfwayglad

BBMC Tracks
SRD Member
Messages
387
Reaction score
2,624
There are a few things to check:
- disable solar effects
- make sure all of your cars are compressed
- make sure your pit box textures are compressed
- lower the number of sounds below 12
 

ZeroHour

Member
SRD Member
Messages
17
Reaction score
13
There are a few things to check:
- disable solar effects
- make sure all of your cars are compressed
- make sure your pit box textures are compressed
- lower the number of sounds below 12
Thanks for your reply! Solar effects on/off is no change. I don't know how to work with textures or compress them etc, I just use the mods and tracks as they are delivered. No change with sounds also.
 

Rufio2031

BBMC Tracks
SRD Member
Messages
197
Reaction score
611
Disabling solar effects will have a larger impact on the night tracks. Typically the FPS drop significantly when the pit crews are in sight so that's probably part of what you're experiencing. When facing the infield you're essentially facing the whole track so everything is rendering. Compressing your cars and crews will have the largest impact. Some people do this before they post for download, some don't.
And, BBMC tracks for sure ask a hell of a lot out of dated software. Some of the newer releases have SD packs in them which might help too.
 

ZeroHour

Member
SRD Member
Messages
17
Reaction score
13
Thanks guys, I discovered that running the D3D8 -> D3D9 wrapper (intended for use with ReShade) took care of the problem.
 

garrett1127

Premier Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
1,260
Also, check out youtube for "TheBenCrazy" tuts on setting up your vid card, he has a new one just posted a few weeks ago.
 

SlickRacer77

Active Member
SRD Member
Messages
110
Reaction score
45
I need to compress my cars that are already installed. That a big pain in the @ss or best way to do that?

Reshade really worth doing now that it's been out for a little while? I know at first had everyone freaked out so I held off.
 

Harry Nurpplez

Making a comeback!
SRD Member
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
1,496
I need to compress my cars that are already installed. That a big pain in the @ss or best way to do that?
Yeah you have to do it manually. Don't think I've ever seen like a batch file or such that could do it automatically unfortunately.
Reshade really worth doing now that it's been out for a little while? I know at first had everyone freaked out so I held off.
Yeah it's fine to use.
 

SwiftyOne

Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
621
Reaction score
429
Thanks guys, I discovered that running the D3D8 -> D3D9 wrapper (intended for use with ReShade) took care of the problem.
I've been having this same problem since I bought a high-end PC 14 months ago spoiling NR2003 like hell, first I've seen for a fix (hopefully) So, where might I find this D3D8 -> D3D9 wrapper and how do I use it? Thanks ;)
Swifty
 

Mystical

Always 110%
SRD Member
Messages
4,159
Reaction score
6,362
I've been having this same problem since I bought a high-end PC 14 months ago spoiling NR2003 like hell, first I've seen for a fix (hopefully) So, where might I find this D3D8 -> D3D9 wrapper and how do I use it? Thanks ;)
Swifty
You just drop the dll into your NR2003 root directory and that is it, you do not need any of the other reshade stuff if you don't want it. There is also a 4GB patch which will increase NR2003 ram usage to 4GB which can help with memory as well: https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371
 

Guitarzan

Field filler par excellence
SRD Member
Messages
44
Reaction score
60
In the player ini. file graphics section did you :
enable_CarMegaShader=1
and
enable_ShadowVolumes=1
That will buy you FPS
 

SwiftyOne

Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
621
Reaction score
429
You just drop the dll into your NR2003 root directory and that is it, you do not need any of the other reshade stuff if you don't want it. There is also a 4GB patch which will increase NR2003 ram usage to 4GB which can help with memory as well: https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371
Thanks, Mystical :) So, I found the d3d9.zip it has with it a d3d9.ini do both go in the root of NR2003?
 

Guitarzan

Field filler par excellence
SRD Member
Messages
44
Reaction score
60
In the player ini. file graphics section did you :
enable_CarMegaShader=1
and
enable_ShadowVolumes=1
That will buy you FPS
 

Mystical

Always 110%
SRD Member
Messages
4,159
Reaction score
6,362
Thanks, Mystical :) So, I found the d3d9.zip it has with it a d3d9.ini do both go in the root of NR2003?
I believe so the ini and dll is all it needs. If put in correctly you should see a pretty bug fps boost. I don't ever average any lower than 60 and most times even behind a full field anywhere from 114-120+ on average.

As for the 4GB patch that will at the very least increase stability since NR2003 will have more ram to use and it decreases they chance of a crash on higher quality tracks. Don't use it as a way to abuse using like 4096x4096 templates though lol. It probably makes it easier to do so but I always recommend to keep it below at 2048 or personally compressed 1024 with compressed 512 pit crews.
 

SwiftyOne

Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
621
Reaction score
429
In the player ini. file graphics section did you :
enable_CarMegaShader=1
and
enable_ShadowVolumes=1
That will buy you FPS
Yes, I did have but changed them back too =0 to see if it made any difference..It didn't :( I'm hoping this D3D9 and the 4gb patch will do it :)
 

SwiftyOne

Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
621
Reaction score
429
I believe so the ini and dll is all it needs. If put in correctly you should see a pretty bug fps boost. I don't ever average any lower than 60 and most times even behind a full field anywhere from 114-120+ on average.

As for the 4GB patch that will at the very least increase stability since NR2003 will have more ram to use and it decreases the chance of a crash on higher quality tracks. Don't use it as a way to abuse using like 4096x4096 templates though lol. It probably makes it easier to do so but I always recommend to keep it below at 2048 or personally compressed 1024 with compressed 512 pit crews.
Thanks again :) Do even 4096x4096 templates exist lol, I know they do and I stay well away, although the look is stunning :)
Swifty
 

Mystical

Always 110%
SRD Member
Messages
4,159
Reaction score
6,362
Thanks again :) Do even 4096x4096 templates exist lol, I know they do and I stay well away, although the look is stunning :)
Swifty
I've heard from some that 4096 was being tried but its best not not allow that to be the norm. While it would be easy I guess to re-compress and size down carsets the day people start releasing 4096 4mb car files its going to cause a lot of issues.
 

J.Smoove

Member
SRD Member
Messages
10
Reaction score
5
I've heard from some that 4096 was being tried but its best not not allow that to be the norm. While it would be easy I guess to re-compress and size down carsets the day people start releasing 4096 4mb car files its going to cause a lot of issues.
I saw some 2019 cars uploaded at 4096 and the file size was more like 10MB if I recall correctly lmao, either way 2048x is a perfectly fine standard for NR2003 cars
 

SwiftyOne

Senior Member
SRD Member
Messages
621
Reaction score
429
Just thought I would share this....Installed the D3D9 and the 4gb patch, and so far I have to say all is working just great, I can't tell any difference in the menu, but out on track...Wow! tracks look sharper and look crisper and the cars look more sharp too...I would recommend everyone install the D3D9 and the 4gb patch, this makes the game look good and has a really stable feel too, I feel that this thread is so important and relevant to NR2003 it should be a sticky thread...Thanks ;)
Swifty
 
Top